Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In a democratic world, every government of the country is working towards the betterment of their country by introducing the newer reforms everyday. Sometime, this reforms are well enough to bost the economy and sometimes they fail to do that. Anyways, government is always working to make their country a better place, so I believe playing with the rules set the government is not a ideal thing to do.

Firstly, if we take a look at the history of scandals, no one has played short. What I mean to say is that scandals could cause huge disturbance in economy and there would be a effect, either small or big, on the financial market or on GDP of the country. If we take a example from India, it has seen its biggest scam in a year 1992 as Harshat Metha Scam. This cause the disturbance of around Rs 5,000 crores in the Indian financial market, which fell sharply in the subsiquent years as well.

I do agree with the statement for a short period of time as well, this Harshat Metha Scam helped the Indian government to find the loopholes in the system, which helped them to stop such scandals taking place. But, talking particularly about the Harshat Metha Scam, the Indian government did have to pay the price, as Prime Minister at that time had to resign just becasue this particular scam has taken place during his leadership. So, scandals cost fortune to goverment as well, which may futher decline the financial market or cause the state of depresion in the market.

Considering the facts and checks from the above, I do belive sometime scandals would be helpful to find the loopholes, but they come with huge cost as well, which would not be benefical of the country's financial stituation.