The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that there has been an increase in the cases of sidewalk rage, which can be controlled by banning the use of a cellphone while walking. However, this argument is rather convincing, given there are some flaws in the logic behind the ban of the cellphone.

Firstly, the author states the ban had worked in the city of Middletown, where they saw the decline in the reporting of the sidewalk incidents. Here, the author did not mention any number that could show a significant decrease in the cases. This assumption of ban working is based on any data, which could not be trusted. For example, Middletown was receiving sidewalk cases in a single-digit number and after the ban of cellphone cases reduced by 3-4 in numbers. As a result, there is a significant decrease in the number of sidewalk rage cases.

Secondly, the writer said about the increase in assaults, property damage and disruption of pedestrian traffic but did not mention that using the cellphone on the sidewalk is the only reason for the increase in such activities. There might some other reasons because of which the number of cases increased in the first place. For example, there might be less space for pedestrian for walking on the sidewalk because of which people collide with each other which led to increasing in the sidewalk rage cases.

Last but not the least, the author considered the situation in Centerville is to the same as the situation in Middletown. He forgot about the difference between the two cities or the people living in them. For Instance, the average age of the populace in Middletown is much older as compared to the population of Centreville because of that they might not be connected to the internet or their phones all the time. Therefore, the cellphone ban was not a problem for the resident of Middletown. Whereas, the younger population is much more connected to their personal device and cellphone ban could chaos in Centerville.

In conclusion, the argument mentioned by the author falls short to explain the reason for considering Middletown tantamount to Centreville or is cellphone is the only reason behind the increase in the number of cases.