The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet stores Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly Their stores saw sales increased by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in

The argument claims that exotic pets monthly magazine was responsible for the increase in sales share of the fish emporium; so the argument recommends that it is advisable to opt ads in exotic monthly magazine and other magazines. Though the argument may have same merit, the author bases his argument on poor reasoning and unsubstantiated claims by relying on questionable premises and flawed assumptions.

First, The author readily assumes that monthly magazine was the key parameter and played important role in increasing the share values of exotics. The author backs his claim without proper evidence .This statement is very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between monthly magazine and share increase. The argument could have provided evidence which links the monthly magazine readership and share increase and it also leaves to mention other relevant parameters .Without mentioning other parameters ,others can challenge the argument by saying that magazine played a small role and they can mention that there are other key parameters which were left out.

second, the argument is flawed as it compares two different stores without showing any evidence that shows that two stores are identical to each other in relevant criteria. The author generalizes that since one store has been able to increase the shares through monthly magazines so all other stores would be able to apply the same strategy. what if the two stores completely different ? what if the customers targeted by both stores are not identical then applying the same principles here would cause more harm than good. The argument raises anomaly ,it would have been better if author explicitly mentioned the similarities between two stores then the argument could have strengthened.

Finally, The argument is flawed as it mentions a cause and effect relationship between advertisement and sales increase. What if it is other way around as increase in sales might be independent of the advertisement. The author does not have any evidence but only assumes that there is a causal relationship. The argument might be strengthened by showing the proofs or facts that support the claim there is no other effect and advertisement is the only factor that is responsible for the cause.