The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

The vise president of Sartorian company concluds in the memorandum to reopen the sales of alpaca overcoats which they stopped selling, five years ago. The memo provides several reasons to support the main idea that, earlier the company did not have good quality wool fabric, however now the comapany copious with high quality fabric, it would be feasible to sell the overcoats after five years. Moreover, the memo subsume that their competitors back then have now shifted to other clothing styles, and hence it would be beneficial to sell the alpaca coats. However, while the conclusion drawn by the vise president of the company might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically attenuates the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore, the following points need to be addressed.

Firstly, the president of the company is comparing the clothing trend of the present day with the clothing trend five years ago without providing any solid evidence. The assumption does not stand on much solid grounds. Five year period is a long period, enough time to bring the change to a society. It might be possible that earlier, people were fond of wearing overcoats and were quite interested by the fasion trend, however, now the time has changed and people are more interested in modern fashion trends. The clothing trend does not take time to change because everyday the celebrities come up with brand new clothing styles and people who follow them tries to emulate their clothing styles, and hence the authors' assumption is dubious.

Secondly, the president of the Sartorian company suggested, now that they are able to produce the aplaca overcoats people will be amazed by the lower price rates and be more willing to buy it. However, the author fails to think about the fact that, over five years the living standard of the people might have changed. Due to increasing prices people have now adapted themselves to buy overpriced cloths and to make their standard constant. Hence, it is possible that people will not buy inexpensive cloths.

Moreover, the company did not provided enough peices of evidence about other companies who are selling multifarious clothing styles. The president of the company thinks that their competitors are not interested in selling the overcoats and hence it would be feasible to sell alpaca overcoats to gain profit. While the company makes this assumption, it is possible that other companies are making way more profit by selling varieties of cloths. Other companies might have been following the new clothing trends and adapting themselves with the upcomming fashion culture which might be proliferating their growth, better than the Sartorian company.

A careful analysis exposes the loopholes present in memorandum. In addition, the memo does not seem to be strong enough to buttress the conclusion of reselling the alpaca overcoats because all the reasons provided by the vice president are skeptical. Therefore, the president of the company should rethink and provide a logical and a foolproof solution.