Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The author concludes that Palean baskets were not unique and can be found in other villages. The archaeologists have discovered a Palean basket in Lithos village located across the Brim River from Palea village to buttress the author's statement. The author mentions that the river is very deep and broad and can be traveled only by boat, and no Paleans boats found; hence, the author's conclusion is averring. However, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically attenuates the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore, the following points need to be addressed.

Firstly, the author did not consider the possibility of a barter system that used to be a significant factor in trading. It might be possible that the two villages are involved in trading activity, and therefore, the Palean baskets were encountered in the Lithos village by the archaeologists. Earlier, trading plays a crucial role in the lives of people. There was no money in the past, and hence people of different tribes were involved in a trading activity that involved exchanging goods among people. This was the basic amenity, and people used to trade products to ensure better living and hence, the civilians of Palea village and the Lithos village might be indulged in such activities.

Secondly, the author has mentioned that the Brim river is very broad and wide, and both the villages were diverged by this river. Additionally, traveling by boat was a feasible solution to cross the river. However, the author has not considered that many underwater caves exist in prehistoric times. Because many risk-factor involved while traveling through boats in the broad rivers, people used to travel through caves to ensure their safety; moreover, it might be possible that there is a longer route circumscribing the river to the Lithos village. It would be difficult for the villagers to take their goods to other villages by boat, and hence they use to transport their goods by the land in their bullock-carts.

In addition to this, there is a little possibility that the villagers of Lithos have made their own baskets for their daily use and comparing it with the baskets of Paleans seems to be identical. The author provides no such evidence by this point.

A careful analysis exposes the loopholes present in the argument by the author. Moreover, the argument does not seem to be strong enough to buttress the conclusion that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean because all the reasons provided by the author are dubious. Hence, the author must rethink and should provide logical and foolproof pieces of evidence.