The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men’s clothing.

“Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our

alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume

production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an

alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer

makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also,

since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five

years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for

alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will

increase.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to

evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or

strengthen the argument.

The new vice president of Sartorian deliberates to resume their alpaca overcoat production as they have found new fabric supplier. In the past five years, as the price of most of clothing has augmented, the president implies that people ought to be willing to pay more price for alpaca overcoats than they did which will increase their profit level. The president is too early to assume that circumstances between these five years have not changed; their company profits will be augmented after they restart to produce the alpaca overcoats.

The new vice president of sartorian posits that there is still the same level of demand for alpaca overcoats as they used to be. Perhaps, dressing sense of people changes over the five years. Maybe, other more attractive design of coat covers the market even with fewer prices. He should consider the lifestyle of people before and after five years. Before restarting to make these overcoats, he had better research market trend or customer requirement. However, their competitor did not make these overcoats anymore might be because of people no more wearing these overcoat or informal dress has overtaken the place of alpaca overcoat. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Without ruminating about other details, the president concluded that their company profit increases as most type of clothing price has increased. Perhaps, the expenses require making these overcoats increases which make the selling price of these overcoats even more. But people might have switch to less expensive products. The president had better thought about production cost; whether the material required making alpaca overcoats have increased or decreased. He should have evaluated the production and selling price before reaching to the assertion. If he does not address these details, the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakend.

The president presumes that a new fabric supplier will provide the same high quality wool fabric they used in making these overcoats. He also assumes that this supplier is reliable. He had already discontinued the production of these overcoats in the past due to unavailability of reliable supplier. So, he must pay special attention towards the quality and reliability of fabric materials before restarting these overcoats production.

Many specifics still need to be considered by the president before arriving at conclusion. He should not assume that people still want to wear these overcoats without appraisal of market demand and competitor. He ought to have analysis his customer interest which could have changed over 5 years of interval. He should not be too quick to judge that these overcoats included in the most of clothing price which has augmented and supplier of fabric materials is reliable.