The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author asserts that the chain should stop stocking imported cheeses and focus on domestic cheeses so that the company can improve profits. The author provides several arguments to support the view. Nonetheless, the claim cannot be assessed in its current form and thus answers to the further questions should be provided.

To begin with, the author presumes that people prefer domestic cheeses than imported cheeses given that all of the five best-selling cheeses were domestic cheddar cheese from Wisconsin last year, but this argument for now doesn’t seem logical. The preference for domestic cheddar cheese from Wisconsin may be the temporary trend for last year. Last year, for instance, Wisconsin may have had an exceptionally outstanding environment to produce high quality cheeses. If this tendency does not persist and the quality of cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin significantly drops, the preference of people may change and domestic cheeses may no longer be their favorite. Hence, the evidence that people will still prefer Wisconsin domestic cheeses should be provided.

Moreover, the author assumes that the data provided by the recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine is reliable, but this may not be the case. The sample size of the survey may not be sufficient, or the sample may contain a bias. If there were only 10 survey respondents, the sample size is too small to be a good representative of people from the USA. Moreover, if those who prefer domestic cheeses are of age over 30, and the majority of magazine subscribers are also of age over 30, then the survey does not adequately reflect the preference of people of age under 30. If any of above is true, the data from the survey become unreliable. Therefore, it should be proved that the sample quality is good enough to represent people from the USA.

Finally, the author argues that the reduction in expenses by limiting inventory will lead to the improvement of profits, which seems unreasonable. Even if people indeed prefer domestic cheeses, profits coming from imported cheeses may not be negligible. If the damage caused by discontinuing stocking of lots of imported cheeses outweighs the reduction of expenses caused by limiting inventory, the economic status of the company may become worse than before. For this reason, it needs to be verified that the cost reduced by limiting inventory is much higher than the cost lost by discontinuing stocking domestic cheeses.

In sum, the author’s claim is based on unproved assumptions which breaks the argument if prove unwarranted. Therefore, the questions such as the sample quality of the survey and the preference of people in the future need to be answered.