The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo states that the owner of a prominent chain of cheese stores believes that the best way to maximise profit is to stock more domestic variety and discontinue stocking of imported variety. This memo is based on the findings of the sales reports in the newest stores and also survey by the magazine , “Cheeses of the World”. However before this memo can be implemented the following arguments must be taken into consideration.

Firstly, The memo states that “ five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin”. Here we have to note that only the newest stores have been a part of the decision. Maybe the newest stores were opened in less prominent cities with less per-capita income , making them prefer cheaper domestic cheese rather than expensive imported variety. Maybe the country is passing through a rescission phase where people are willing to pay less for the same item for the short term. It could also be that the customers who are experiencing the restaurant the first time want to judge the restaurant based on domestic cheese. If either of these issues is true then the argument would not hold ground.

Secondly, The price of imported cheese is cheaper compared to that of domestic cheese. This means that less quantity of imported cheese sales can make up for large quantities of domestic sales. Hence we can optimise more high quality cheese occupying less space which could increase profits. The tradeoff of domestic and imported cheese shelving must be studied by experts for the right tradeoff.

Lastly, The survey of the magazine “Cheeses of the world” cannot be relied upon due to the following issues. The owner does not specify the location where the survey was sampled. It doesn't specify the demographic that had taken part in the survey. Maybe the people of all age groups were not sampled , maybe the survey was not a good mix of the rich , middle class and the poor , since the rich usually prefer imported cheese. If these issues are true then argument doesn't hold water.

In conclusion the argument as it stands now is deeply flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions and inherent bias. If the author is able to answer all the above questions with more evidence( scientific and systematic surveys , models followed by other competitors), then it is possible to fully validate the viability of the proposal the owner has proposed.