The following appeared in a memo from the owner of Green Thumb Gardening Center, a small business serving a suburban town.

There is evidence that consumers are becoming more and more interested in growing their own vegetables. A national survey conducted last month indicated that many consumers were dissatisfied with the quality of fresh vegetables available in supermarkets. And locally, the gardening magazine Great Gardeners has sold out at the village news stand three months in a row. Thus, we at Green Thumb Gardening Center can increase our profits by greatly expanding the variety of vegetable seeds we stock for gardeners this coming spring.

In this memo, the owner of green thumb gardening center concludes that the consumers are becoming more and more interested in growing their own vegetables. In order to support this author has come up with certain evidences. However on a deeper scrutiny it is reveled that none of its evidences lend credible support to the conclusion let us scrutinize them further.

Firstly author talks about the survey conducted last month indicated that many consumers were dissatisfied with the quality of fresh vegetables available in super markets, however authors ignores the fact that quality of fresh vegetables depend on the air, water surrounding the field if the quality of vegetables is not appropriate then its main reason is the buildings, traffic (air pollution), sewage which pollute the river water due to this vegetable quality decreased.

Also it is not clear that survey is done on thousands of people or only those who resides on town, because air is more polluted near town.Therefore we cannot rely on such kind of survey whose knowledge is limited in small scopes. Also not all people are capable of growing their own vegetables, because they have no such land to grow a crop.And if they grow one or two vegetable they not only depend on only this two vegetable they had to grow more crop.

Secondly authors talks about that the gardening magazine Great Gardeners has sold out at the village news stand three months in a row, however authors unnecessary assumes that those magazine are purchased by the local residence and not by the farmers or a firm who work on agriculture development.

Thirdly authors talks about they increase their profit by greatly expanding the variety of vegetable seeds however authors ignores the fact that the land of gardeners supports those fields for seeds or not, and more importantly that they have sufficient part of land to grow the vegetables, it is also seen that the seeds and magazine are sold more in monsoon then other months.

Overall the memo is far from forceful enough to persuade that the consumers are interested in growing their own vegetable irrespective of the fact that the land condition, air and water condition are favorable or not. Thus author failed to give cogent evidences to prove their point.To better evaluate the argument we would need more information about alternative sources of vegetables for local consumers. We should also need to know that why all the copy of new stands of the gardening magazine has sold.