Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee, pads etc) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark, wrists pads etc). Clearly the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

The passage concludes that according to hospital statistics people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need of proactive equipment. In order to support this author has come up with certain evidences, however on a deeper scrutiny it is reveled that none of the evidences lend credible support to the conclusion let us scrutinize them further.

Firstly authors talks about 75 percent of peoples who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any proactive clothing or any light reflecting material, however author ignores the fact that accident occur on day time or night, streets and parking lots have traffic or empty, also light reflecting material are needed by the persons where motorists are more for the indication of roller skaters, and for proactive gear author unnecessary ignores that the cause of accident is another roller-skater or a motorist or a natural calamity, because it is unclear that the accident happens only to those who are not wearing all this or both.

Secondly authors talks about that it is clear by the statistics that high quality proactive gear and reflective equipment roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured however authors ignores the fact that reflective equipment are used to indicate others where their is a traffic, mostly if a person who are safety conscious did not skate at traffic areas, streets and parking lots are not the right place for skating skaters must skate at park or back yards, other for proactive gears are mostly used by those skaters who skate dangerously or made stunt with them so it may be there natural caution.

Moreover the statistics does not come with conclusion that safety gear prevents sever injuries. The conclusion suggest that it is presumed that people come in injure room only with sever injuries, also skating is are recreational activity that may be engaged in during evenings and weekends when doctors offices are closed, skaters with less sever injuries may likely to come to the emergency room for treatment.

Last but not the least author did not cover the fact for high quality gear because it is ignored that a white shirt on night reflects more and easily catch able from far away then expensive light emitting gear. Before skaters are encouraged to invest in heavily in gear, a more complete understanding of the benefit provided by individual pieces of gear would be helpful.

Overall the argument is far from forceful enough to persuade the roller skaters should invest in proactive gear and reflective equipment in order to reduce their risk. Much work is left for the author in order to make a logical and cogent decision on safety gears used by roller-skaters.