The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused by sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta, we recommend shortening each of our three work shifts by one hour. If we do this, our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The vice-president of Alta Manufacturing gives the advice about the shortening the working shifts in this company by an hour, to increase the alertness of the workers and reduce the on-the-job incident rate which was thirty percent higher than the calamities occurred in Panoply Industries. This recommendation cannot be accepted as it stands since it relies on the series of skeptical premises which are questionable in one way or another. The following paragraphs will list the most conspicuous problems of the considered assumptions and the queries which cast doubt on the validity of the memo.

The first problem with the note is the comparison which is lacking the rearing information about the conditions of two compared companies. As long as, there is no clue about the similarities between two industries, the comparison will be a dead-ended action such as the comparison of apples and oranges. In this case, the questions which should be responded are; firstly, are the working load of these two factories identical? Secondly, do both industries possess the same level of safe working conditions for their employees? Finally, do the employed working forces at two factories own the same state of knowledge and expertise in working with the mechanical machine in the factories? All these questions explicitly illustrate for the comparison or contrast, there should be the same base and varied details until there will be a chance of making an accurate comparison and figuring out the differences. For instance, in this comparison, there is the possibility that the working load at Panoply Industries is half of the working load in Alta Manufacturing. In this case, the shorten an-hour shift at Panoply Industries will not fulfill the tediousness happens in Alta Manufacturing.

Another issue with the memo is the vague and short sentence which is stated on behalf of experts. Indeed, it is a very precise and ambiguous sentence which does no clarified the type of the occupation and impact factors of the fatigue and lack of sleep in the on-the-job incidents; consequently, a list of questions comes to mind. First of all, does this hypothesis include the entire types of occupations? Then, are two factors of fatigue and sleep deprivation the mere reason of on-the-job accidents? Finally, if they are not the sole reason, what is the impact ratio of other factors? Maybe, this experts’ sentence only is about the driving and hazardous occurred for drivers; or there are other factors such as the level of knowledge and expertise about the working with machines leading to the on-the-job accident, which do not own the high impact factor as the tiredness and sleep deprivation; however, it is not that much insignificant to be overlooked. In this case, a superficial sentence about the side-effect of lack of sleep and tediousness cannot a concrete reference to rely on.

Finally, the vice-president assumes that the shortening of the whole working shifts by an-hour will be effective for the prevention of the accident in the factory. This is a shaky assumption, even with the acceptance of the fatigue and sleeplessness as the major cause of the accident at this factory, there is no piece of evidence that this eliminated hour from shift will be spent for resting by the labors. This dubious perspective highlights this question that does the workers allocate this period for their rest and sleep or other types of activities? Since there is the probability that workers prefer to spend it for the family meeting or their individual chores. Therefore, the action according to this assumption will not lead to the well-rested working force.

To wrap it up, all the above-mentioned problems and queries lucidly depict that this memo is doubtful and requires further explanations.