The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

The memo from the vice-president is in favor of appointing Appian Roadways for the construction of the roads to the malls.And the reason cited is that one of the roads constructed by them has been in good condition for 4 years and hence if the construction of the roads to the shopping malls are constructed by Appian they will easily last for 4 years.

The claim that Appian will be a better candidate for construction of the roads is based on insufficient evidence.

There could be various reasons for the roads at route 101 having badly cracked, it could be because of frequent passing of heavy vehicles.And a road constructed by Appian would have been likely to meet the same fate.

Also the vice president states other facts such as Appian bringing in a new manager and equipment as another reason for hiring them. It is quite possible that the reason why the roads at route 40 were so robust were because of the previous manager and would it be wise to trust a rather new manager to deliver the same outcome as the previous manager

Judging a company on the basis of just a single road seems rather inadequate , others roads constructed by them and the statistics of how well they have fared should also be taken into consideration.

Also whats needs to be verified is the cost that will be incurred from from hiring either of them.It is quite possible that a company which has been deemed to build durable roads could also charge exorbitant prices for the same, And hence the budgetary limitations will also be a major factor in deciding which company to opt for

Thus a a lot of factors will need to be verified before deciding on which company to go ahead with the construction of roads to the shopping malls