The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company."Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different constructio

The vice president of the company recommends Zeta to excute the new buliding porject in stead of Alpha company. It is argued that the two building companies had constructed two regional heaquaters for two regions for the company ten years ago. During these years, the cost of maintenance and enery consumption fo the two headquaters varied which shows the buliding that Zeta had constructed consumpted these fees less even if the buliding cost were more than the buliding which Alpha constructed, so the vice president concludes that the Zeta has a better working quality and offer the advice mentioned previously. While this suggestion is problematic because there are some loopholes from the beginning to the end. Every evidence should be rescrutinized carefully.

To begin with, the quality of the two headquaters cannot represent the working levels of the two buiding company right now. Firstyl ,the vice president does not tell us where the two bulidings locate, thus the buiding cost can be varied with high possiblity due to the different regions. Maybe the buliding constructed by alpha is in some placce suitable for construction while the Zeta's project place was full of rocks and the basement was hard to be digged because of the complicated land condition. Let alone there may be earthquakes or tornadoes which should be taken into consideration prior and duiring the constructing. So the cost varied make sense while it is not a merit of either of the compnay. Secondly, the maitenance s of the two companies are not comparable, too. The author does not tell us what the two branches in the two headquater mainly operate as well as how many people are working in thw two places, these fatcors are significant to a buildings use, thus the cost of maitences and energy consumption are different possibly. For example, if the buliding construted by Alpha locates at Sydney, the tax will be reduced if the buliding's lights were all on during the nights, while if the headquater built by Zeta is in China, the first target of the buliding is to save energy as possible as they can. Thus this difference could not prove the construction quality as well.

In addition, the two headquaters has been in use for ten years, which means the construction quality may evovle during the decade, thus the two buliding companies' construction quality could not determined by the work they made ten years ago. Accordingly, due to the time was not short, the running condtions may varied between the two companies. If the vice president want to start the new building project, he should not take the two headquaters into consideration of choosing the new partner, let alone the promise of Alpha which promised lower cost in construtions which may cause severe construction qualities.

In conclusion, the suggestion by the vice president is not compelling by the date and evidence given. To make a wise choice, the vie president should maike a wide suvrey of the two companies as well as not ignore other good companies.