In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of boo

There were two studies of reading habbits of Waymarsh citizens represented in this statement. The first one was based on the survey of the citizens' respondence which showed their preference on literary classics. However, the local library borrowing data based study showed that the people in this place preferred mysery novel. Hence the author concluded that the respondece based survey had made a wrong conclusion on the reading habbits of the Waymarsh citizens. While the author's conclusion is not convincing, there are some loopholes in the statement ,we need to reexamine them carefully.

To begin with, the people invovled in these two researchemay be not the same group. The author does not mention whehter the people interviewed in the first study were also the exactly same ones studied in the second study. Thus the data from the two studies may not be convicing as they presented the habbits of different groups of people. Moreover, even if they were the same people, the author does not tell us how much of them takes part in the total Waymarsh citizens, in that maybe there were just few people participated in the studies which could not show the whole condition.

In addition, whether the result of the first study true or not was still in question. In that people may not tell the truth when they were asked about private infromation like reading habbits. Maybe they merely wanted to show their comparable high level reading habbits by telling they were in fond of classics while actually they would like to read these mythtery novels for fun. Thus the data of the two studies were not accurate.

Finally, wheher the researching method of the scecond study proper was still in question. As we were not aware of that how did the people in Waymarsh read books in generall, there are lots of way of reading today, by e-books, on PCs and cellphones buying books or borrowing books. Thus the data from the library may be not acurrate due to the reading methods metioned above. So the conlusion of the second study was not convicing.

Coclusively, the author's opinion of the statement is not compelling as there were some reasonings were not logical and practical. To furhter the study, the author should get to know the main method of reading in this place, then focusing on this field to develop deep study of people as well as their preference in reading.Once foused the field, the data except for the respondence of people may be more accurate because people may not tell the truth when they get an interview.