Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.Write a r

I believe there is no necessary to regulate every student to take variety of courses besides student's major.To be specific, an proper mount of courses outside sudent's major is acceptable for everyone, that's the meaning of the selective courses. Even though someone asserts that learning different classes is the best way to become truly educated, this reason is also unneccesary for every student, because the truly educated is not defined as studying lots of majors, that will make the student lose the direction of future. I will address my views with three points below.

To begin with, It is conductive for students to learn courses besides their studying fields.To some extent, it would be helpful for their own major. Like students majoring computer science, if they learn some anthropology and Philosophy, it would help them to understand the Artificial Inteligence more comprehensively as this major is an inter-discipline course. Due to the development of out society, more and more inter-discipline majors are acquired in the daily life especiallly the AI field. In this way, the sutudents would benefit from these courses outside their majors.The sutdents majoring in arts ,likewise, can learn some scienfic majors to broaden their vison and cultivated by different fields beside the aesthetic elements. There is a kind of arts named mechanical equipment art which combined with mechanics and arts.

Here we should know the definiton of truly educated.As far as my concern, students should not be defined truly educated with lots of cousrses they have learned.If the student learn various courses while every class is medicore, it it meaningless for the student because he mastered nothing.On the other hand, there are students who just learn a certain major perfectly at University, after graduating they also contribute the society with their skills. That is the student who truly educated likewise.

Finally, we should make this essay clear with te fields and extents for the students to resvolve the problem that what kind of courses and how many of them should a student learn besides the student's own major to make the student as truly educated? In my opinion, it is not a very complicated question. Firstly, one should know himself/herself well to make clear what is the main major, then they should be clear that for the science majors , students should study some social courses as well as arts; Wile for the literary or arts major students, they should learn some scientific classes to broaden their views; Secondly, the extent of learning classes outside one's major should not disturb the majot studying, this is significant that one should learn the main major well for the first place; Thirdly,Whteher the courses are helpful is an important criterion for the student's studying as if you find the class is not helpful or meanful at all, you should alternate the classes with others'.

In conclusion, I belive to be truly educated, every student should learn some courses depending on their own cases.