The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that fatigue and sleep deprivation are the main reason for on-the-job accidents. However, the author's argument to shorten one hour from workers’ shifts does not make a cogent case. It is easy to understand that a vice president of Quiot manufacturing wants to reduce on-the-job accidents and increase productivity, but the arguer needs verifiable evidences to prove this recommendation.

First of all, the author mentions that if the company cut the employees' hours to one hour less, it is going to reduce on-the-job accidents which is not logical. There is no information about all workers' physical conditions which can make a different perspective. Many of workers may be able to work fulltime perfectly. In addition, some employees may lose their passion at work when they have to work less with less income which will result in less productivity.

Additionally, the author assumes that fatigue is the main reason for on-the-job accidents, but he/she does not count other possibilities which are important to consider. Imagine new employees who did not get enough training to use instruments safety, so they may end of hurting themselves accidently. Some instruments may be so old and not functioning well which can result in accidents at work environment. To strength his/her recommendation, a vice president needs to investigate about all other reasons for job accidents.

Last but not least, the arguer compares two different manufacturing and expect to get the same results which does not make sense. There may be many differences between Quiot and Panoply factories. It is possible that Panoply have more trained and professional employees compared to Quiot manufactory. Moreover, it is important to consider work environment safety differences between these two factories.

A vice president of Quiot manufacturing can make his/her suggestion persuasive when he/she gathers information about similarities and differences between Quiot and Panoply industries, all other possibilities for work accidents, and work hours monitoring. After answering these questions, a vice president can make such a conclusion.