The following appeared in a memorandum from administrative head of the international students’ activities at Rydell College

“To better attend to the needs of the international students being admitted to Rydell College, we should build a new dining hall that serves food to students at subsidized rates. The current dining hall is very old and serves only expensive items and dishes, something that will certainly prevent future international students from applying to Rydell College. Building a new dining hall will avert this possibility and will definitely lead to a dramatic increase in a popularity of Rydell College. Moreover, a new dining hall will help Rydell College to justify an increased budget for educational improvement this year. Building a new dining hall will therefore be a great step towards enhancing the ranking of Rydell College.”

At first sight, the authors argument appears to be quite convincing but upon further reflection reveals that it is rife with holes and unjustified assumptions about the current facility that is available at the campus.

To begin with, the date and time the memorandum was published is not mentioned anywhere. If this argument is 20 year old then the conditions might have changed greatly and need for reconsideration of the situation is there. Even if the argument was made in the recent years, the vague assumptions about the current dining hall that it is old and serves only expensive items and dishes needs justification. Author does not talk about exactly how much old the dining hall is in terms of number of years which may be helpful in strengthening the argument. The oldness of the dinning hall cannot be considered as a valid reason for building a new one if the former one is serving it purpose at par. Further, selling food at subsidized rates in the old dining hall may prove to be a better solution over building a new hall for the same purpose. The food with subsidized rates can also be sold in the of hall.

Moreover, before taking any decision a survey upon how much international students rather any kind of students from the Rydell College actually take food regularly in the dining hall or they prefer any other external facility must be carried out which might turn helpful. Also, what parameters are causing the food to be expensive must be sought out and eliminated if possible. Also care must be taken while serving the food at subsidized rates that the nutritional content of the food doesn't get subsidized.

Furthermore, the popularity of a college is much dependent upon the quality of education the institute provides than the dining facilities it has. So, if not needed urgently the huge funds that are supposed to go for dining hall project must be diverted to improve the education and research facilities at the college. e.g. research labs, libraries etc. Moreover, it would be an immoral thing to call the enhancement in dining facility as educational improvement to justify the increased budget for the year. Also as stated earlier, the rank of an educational institute will certainly depend upon the quality of education it offers that the secondary things like dining facility, provided that the evaluation rubric has more weightage for the education.

In conclusion, the author must carry out a through survey and statistical study to know better the current situation and requirements of the college. Investing a huge amount in facility that doesn't really need improvement surely will cause to increase the financial burden on the college.