The following appeared in a memorandum from the business department of the Apogee Company:

“When the Apogee Company had all its operations in one location, it was more profitable than it is today. Therefore,

the Apogee Company should close down its field offices and conduct all its operations from a single location. Such

centralization would improve profitability by cutting costs and helping the company maintain better supervision of all

employees.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The memorandum from the buisness department of the Apogee Company claims that by closing the company's feild offices and conducting all its operations from a single location they will be able to increase the company's profits. The claim is supported by the fact that the company was more profitable in the past when it was cenralized and that centralization would lead to lower costs and better oversight of the employees. The argument presented has a flawed line of reasoning. The following paraghaphs will discuss why.

The memorandum claims that since the company was more profitable when it was centralized, centralization would increase the profitibility of the comapany. This line of reasoning is flawed as it assumes that centralization was cause of the profitibility. It is possible that when company was profitable in the past it was may have been because of other reasons like better economic enviroment, govenment subsidies or high sales.

Additionaly the memorandum claims that centralization would improve profitibility by reducing costs and improving oversights of the employess. This argument doesn't consider the benifits of having feild offices and operation. It assumes that there is no financial benifit of having feild offices. It is possible that by having the feild offices the comapany is able to increase sales and lower supply chain costs. To substanciate the argument the authors must provide evidenct that the benifits of the having feild offices are outweighed by the savings from centralization.

Thus the argument that the company should close it feild offices to increase its profits is very fragile. As diccused in the pragraphs above the argument fails to establish centralization as a cause of profitiblity and that cost savings from centralization will offset the benifits.