The following appeared in a memorandum issued by a large city’s council on the arts:

“In a recent citywide poll, 15 percent more residents said that they watch television programs about the visual arts

than was the case in a poll conducted five years ago. During these past five years, the number of people visiting our

city’s art museums has increased by a similar percentage. Since the corporate funding that supports public television,

where most of the visual arts programs appear, is now being threatened with severe cuts, we can expect that

attendance at our city’s art museums will also start to decrease. Thus some of the city’s funds for supporting the arts

should be reallocated to public television.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The author of the memorandum claims that city's funding for suppoting arts should be rellocated to public television. The claim is suported by the fact that an 15% increase in viewership of visual art programme coincided with 15% increase in footfall of the museums. It also claims that the severe cuts in visual art programs will lead to decrease in footfall. The argument of the author is based on fragile assumptions as we will discuss in the pragraphs below.

The author claims that the positive corelation of footfall in the museums and viewership of visual art programs implies causation. This is flawed line of reasoning as corelation doesn't imply causation. It is possible that both viewership of visual art and footfall were increases because of a well managed social media campaign.

In addition to that, the claim that severe cuts in visual art programme will lead to a decrease in footfall is not well substantiated as it relies on the assumption that since there was a positive corelation between the two in the past there must be positive corelation in the present. This line of reasoning is flawed as, just because there was a positive corelation in the past it does not imply positive corelation in the present. For example it is possible that increase in viewership and footfall in past were both cause by government social media campaigns but in the present, the visual arts programs have become unpopular hence the severe cuts. Due to lack of visual art programme people might come to museums more often to experince art hence increasing the footfall, such a case would contradict the author assumption that there will be a positive corelation in the future as well.

Thus the argument of the author that the city should rellocate its funding to public television is fragile as it relies on flawed assumption and line reasoning as discussed in the paragraphs above. The author should substantiate his augment by showing that increase in viewership of visual art programme causes increase in footfall.