The following appeared in a memorandum from the human resources department of

Diversified Manufacturing:

“Managers at our central office report that their employees tend to be most productive in the days immediately preceding a vacation. To help counteract our declining market share, we could increase the productivity of our professional staff members, who currently receive four weeks paid vacation a year, by limiting them to a maximum of one week’s continuous vacation time. They will thus take more vacation breaks during a year and give us more days of maximum productivity.”Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The argument that replacing long a month vacation with a maximum 7 day vacation will increase productivity of staff that help to prevent current drop in the market share of company is not entirely logically convincing that it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, argument assumes that many small vacations will rise productivity time that occurs after vacations can’t be accepted as a fact. Because decreasing time of vacations could led to unhappiness and not to relax as workers will. People want their vacation time to be length as more as possible. After a year hard work a week couldn’t be enough for them to relax and stress out their tiredness. For example, after a week, when employee back to work, it is possible to feel tiredness that never help board of company for their goals.

Secondly, the argument never addresses holidays during a year. Christmas or Ramadan is holy holidays that give workers more than a week vacation every year. Additionally, there are many national holidays that change by country, but give employees many free days during an entire year to relax which there are possible vacations that company can use for its productivity. For example, there are 10 days Ramadan, 7 days New Year eve’s and 10 days Nevruz holiday in Azerbaijan that there are enough to fill plans of board that would be efficient to companies to raise their production after them.

Thirdly, the Argument forgets opinions of employees. People mostly want to relax during the summers but if company divide them to 4 small vacations which one for every season. But it won’t be efficient for company, because people prefer some seasons as their best and want to go to a vacation during that time. For example, sending employee to vacation during autumn instead of long summer one, will make him or her unhappy rather to relax and being productive.

Finally, the argument omits data about that rise in productivity will solve market share problem of company. There are many determinant of lose in the market for companies. Author’s claimed that less productivity as cause of company’s share. It is impossible to decide or to come a conclusion that it is only reason. Actually, advertisements, quality of products and many things could be reason behind of loss. For example, bad quality or inefficient service could cause loss in competitive market versus their counterparts.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound.

The evidence in support of conclusion, the company should decide to use religious and national holidays as way to achieve their plans rather that dividing vacation of its workers.

Ultimately, the argument might have been weakened by flaws in given argument.