The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer of the argument alleges that the decline of the number of the listeners is directly correlated to the rock-music format that is playing in the radio station. Although the argument seems cogent at first glance but when we delve deeper into the argument it is rife of fallacious which I explain three of them now.

First of all, the author of the argument assumes that retired people do not like rock-music and as the number of them are increasing so the total number of the listeners decrease. To support his idea, the author do not present any evidence like statistical data or survey. Maybe the number of retired people are not huge in comparison with the total population of the city. Moreover, he do not any evidence that shows retired persons do not like rock-music. In order to improve the argument, the writer could hold a survey with scientific method that study all of the possibilities.

Secondly, the author provide some evidence of a decline in local sale of music track to demonstrate music listener are decreasing in this area while neglect other possibilities. Maybe, due to the advance in technology the number of buying recorded music decreased and people prefer to download online their favorite music. Another possibility is that people may buy their music on the concert tour when they are outside the city. In order to more persuasive the argument, the author should scrutinize other possibilities and provide some evidence to refute them.

Finally, even if we accept the listener do not like any kind of music, the writer suggest to change the program of the radio station to news and talk to attract the listeners. the author do not provide any information that why he has chosen these kinds of program and not other types like sports, comedy, or politics. To make more believable the argument for the reader, the author should hold a comprehensive survey about different types of program that may attract the local listeners and then he could decide about the future program of the radio station.

In conclusion, though the writer try to suggest different solution to attract listeners for radio station, he fails to present persuasive evidence to convince the reader.