The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt urges the intention of the manager of WWAC radia station - to replace their musical format of with the format of news and talk-shows. The logical flaws beneath the implicit assumption of the manager are pointed below, only to be followed by the clarification of those assumptions in order to come to a culmination.

1. Increase in the number of resident will definitely arise the demand of respective musics of the abiders.

2. The new resident are not interested enough to hear rock music.

3. Decline in local sells of musics traansparents the idea that the overall demand of musics is on downside.

4. Replacing the musics with format of talkshows will adduce the revenues of the radio station; has been haulted recently beause of steep decline in the demand of music.

To begin with - the manager is too quick to assume that increase in residents, mostly people who are retired - meant to say overaged; are less likely to hear rock-music, which in turn are declining the demand of it. But a special point to present - there is nothing said in the prompt about the previous customers of the radio station. Did they left the radio station or they are still interested enough to hear musics from the WWAC radio station. If the the previous customers' interest into the rock musics did not las long and they left the radio station and those customers are replaced by the newly arrived aged customers - then it might be the reason for the decline of rock music in the radio station. But what if that is no the case. In fact, what if the previous customers are attached to the radio station and still are listening to their favourite ones? Then the decline in rock musics enthusiasists is something about to happen and thus we might criticise the remark that the rock musics is in the decline because of the disparity in tastes of the newly arrived residents.

Also, it is not cleared form the passage about how long before the residents have arrived. Are they accustomed enough to all the raio station's shows or else. It might happen that the residents have tranferred recently and are not pretty much used to any kind of modern day musics. But does that necessarily mean thay will not be in future. What if later it is found out that the residents are quite smart actually to relieve with the young generation and are preferbly liking the rock musics. In that case, it will be nothing but flaw to assume to better change the musics tailored to other forms.

Apart from that - it is conjectured that decline in local sales of recorded musics is actually the fact of the decreasing demand of that music. Bu the manager is missing quite a few points here. May be most of the new residents are not comfortable in hearing recorded musics. May be the arriced age-old residents are not acknowledged sincerely regarding the sale of those musics and who know, they might be ruptured to buy those sales of musics once they are comfortable with the rock musics providing sufficient time to them.

So, looking at overall points and clarifications of the aforementioned assumptions, it might not be a good idea to come to any conclusion without proper critical remarks and evidences to be convinced that the rock music formats are to be replaced with that of news and talk shows.