Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt supports the idea that one should not take more than two cup of green tea in a day in order to remain safe from certain illness such as - sleeplessness, headaches and irritability. The logical reasoning behind this understanding of the author is quite simple but dependent on several assumptions. Necessary implicit assumptions that underlie the argument are -

1. The long-term study mentioned in the prompt are conducted on the group of people who don't have any bad habits other than taking green tea three times a day.

2. People, taking green tea more than two times a day have the same metabolism of the other group of people who are doing the same.

3. The people author is indicating are not conscious enough regarding the side effects of green tea or the caffeine that comes with it.

4. Also, that people who are taking green tea are not taking precautious measures before intaking it.

For reaching to any certain decision these assumptions should be cleared out first based on their merits.

To begin with - it is believed by the author that the people with whom he has referenced the other group; dont have any other harmful habits that may cause them sleeplessness or irritability. There might be other reasons behind their anomalies, for instances- some of them were going through severe mental pressure, some of them was caught with other diseases etc - which may not be included in the upshot of the 'long-term' study. In that respect - the study might not provide the convenient result to be depended upon.

Another one is that, the people drinking gree tea more than twice a day, may have different metabolism from the study conducted people. They may suffer from different diseases for which their doctos might have prescribed them to drink in the mentioned way. May be the people will be fine even after taking the green tea more than twice a day because of their different metabolistic structure from that of the previously mentioned people. In that case - it might not be wiser one to ascertain the argument.

Also, it might be that case that people who are taking greean tea in good amount, are cautious enough to take it in that way. What if the people who are taking the green tea might just have filtered out the caffein in some way and take only the better part. In that case - the author assumed fact that caffein will cause them sleeplessness and irritability will be of no good.

So, looking from all the factors aforementioned and taking the ambiguity of the assumptions, it will take a lot more clearity and evidences to come into any conclusion.