Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The prompt sincerely supports the idea that discussing controversal topics with the people having contrasting views might not be of any use as they will hardly help themselves to change their viewsand beliefs. For certain reasons I "mostly disagree" with this statement for which I am going to elaborate my point of view for the same.

To begin with - as it is conspicuously said that it is of no use to discuss controversal matters with people of opposing views - I take firm opposition of it. The prompt is not discussing about the convinient of the views of the opposing party. When we talk with someone having different views from us it is not necessary that we will try to convinve him or her towards us. We might have a modest conversation regarding anything just enrich our knowledge. Who knows, by talking with someone having different point of view might deliver us some new horizons from which till we are not introduced. In that case - it would not be a wise one to predict that the conversation will be of no use.

Secondly, it will not be good idea to tantamount that each and every people will react in the same way when they will be asked about the controversal ideas or regarding their core beliefs. There will be some people who will handle the the total convo pretty coolly. Contrarily, there will be some people who will be up for a face-off. So, depending on the people the situation will differ.

Elaborating my previous point; for example - in Islamic culture it is believed that Eid-Ul-Adha is a day of joy, slaughtering a cow in order to offer probity to the God. To the muslims it is of their beliefs and core culture. On the otherhand, in Hinduism - cow is believed to be God for the Hinduists. So, it is clearly evident that followers of Islam and Hinduism are holding different beliefs from the other. But does that necessarily mean that they will question their rituals or beliefs? No. For evidence we can look up to different multcultural countries such as - Bangladesh, India etc for better understanding. If it happens in that way then people of different religions may not live together for years because of clash of opinions and other not so cool stuffs.

However, this same scenerio will run in to dilemma whenever one group of people will try to impose their own beliefs upon other. Then the problem arises. It is true that people hardly like the interrogation of their core beliefs. In general sense, people try to hold on to their beliefs what they have learned through their ancestors. As a result there is a good possibility of arousion of clash or will be of zero importance when these people are imposed to be deterrent from their beliefs.

Saying so, it will be all okay and will be a great source of knowledge for the knowledge seekers who want to learn new things regarding other beliefs and controversal matters until the people to whom they are clinging are not imposed or in other way are not being dictated by other beliefs.