Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt urges the students to ask question to their teachers about what they are being taught rather than devouring it passively. For some obvious reasons I would like to be "mostly agree" with the consent and hereby obliged to provide necessary elaborations of certain points in defense of my position.

To begin with - it is evident that students learn much more when try to learn their studies by themselves, in simple more actively. It is scientific that when human mind involve itself more closely with any situation the outcome is more profound than if it remain inactive; causes passive mode. But before getting into the dispute about the approach of the students, it has be cleared about what is being talked about in the prompt by the term "asking". The idea implies that student has to be more vocal in their learning. That is to say they should not remain silent and just devour the teacher's lecture althrough the time. Rather they should ask necessary questions - not to bother the teacher but only to satiate their hunger of knowledge. It also appears that students ask question more often when they take genuine interest in their courses. However, that does not mean either that the students do not ask questions are devoid of proper learning or have not able to understand their courses ultimately. But the fact that when questions are being asked to the teachers, they become more ebullient to answer those questions as they think that their students are taking real interest in their subjects. For which the teacher becomes more motivated to teach those students more apart from the necessary topics of the respective courses which will ultimately benefit the students in the long run.

Complimentarily - there are some teachers who might not find the questions from the students as welcoming as the others. They might think that their students are trying to restrict them (teachers) or trying to check their patience. Yes, this is pretty obvious as there is always anomaly to the normal. Regarding this sensitive issue questions can easily be asked whether students should be allowed to ask questions or not. Although the case will vary from teachers to teachers, the principle is always the same and that is - ask to learn and to learn is ot grow. If a student is asking in order to know the unknows or to satiate his hunger for knowledge or to be sure about his hypothesis - as far as that concerns, it is absolutely fine. However, if the motive is not there and it is deviating from the right path, then there is some issue to be concerned about. Some teachers might not take into account of these stuffs or some may take hold on this - which may harbour poor result for the demeaning student in his or her academic career. So, yes it argued for the students to take potential question for the educators however, should provide a balance while considering it.

Another important factor or more relevant to ask - aren't the teachers covering their syllabus of respective courses in their classes? If they are doing so then what is the reason behind asking additional questions to them - from a student's point of view. The reason belies it's true incentive. To gain knowledge is not all about covering the synoptic syllabus or only to get good grades in the exams. Rather the sole purpose of learning is to gain knowledge and to grow from the former selves. Growth can only make a person better than his previous self which may regards nothing with the exam result that the asking students might try to connect. It can be obvious that a good student might not be as good human being whereas a medium one might be a better human being or an efficient one in the long run compared to the former one. Ubiquitous examples are scattering surround us. Present world needs efficient man power not someone who can rote pages after pages only to do nothing but to hover around for jobs once the illusion is gone. Rather the more curious students will try to learn more and more in the class as well as outside to make himself or herself more equipped with contemporary things or happenings in his domain. And for this - no better place other than his classroom will help him more, by how? By asking his teacher potential and innovative questions.

So, looking at all the points and logics mentioned above it can be concluded that it is actually better for a student to ask his or her teacher questions relevant to his or her courses - to satiate his hunger for knowledge and helps himself to grow. However, proper balanced should be maintained while asking the questions in order to avoid any kind of misdemeanor towards the teacher.