The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area , but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The author claims that rock-music format should be changed into the news and talk format. To support the conclusion, he cites various evidences such as continuing decline in local sales of recorded music and the population growth in their area is mainly from people moving after their retirement. Although these evidences appear to bolster the argument, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. So the author needs to cite the following specific evidence to make the argument more sound.

First of all, the author assumes that people after retirement loves news and talk format more than rock-music. Perhaps, the declining number of listeners were due to the harsh and unpopular music played by the WWAC. It is possible that, retired people loves the rock-music, but eh WWAC plays, old and boorish music. If this was the case then, this case would significantly weakens the argument.

Second of all, the writer presumes that the timing of rock-music format is according to the people's taste. Perhaps, the timing of rock-music format is so absurd that people don't get time from their regular activities. Possibly, people love to do yoga in the morning and probably the rock-music format is in the morning. If this was the case then instead of changing the format, WWAC should focus on timing. Without this evidenced, going into the author's conclusion is unwarranted.

Third of all, the author, assumes that WWAC is just only one means to get time pass by the people. Possibly, there are other very way are coming to that region to spent time. For instance, if there were other popular concerts is organized daily in the region, perhaps, people are finding such live concert more entertaining than listening WWAC rock- music format. If this was the case, then it considerably weakens the author's conclusion.

In conclusion, it is possible that changing the format into news and talk format would rise the number of listeners. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render the argument unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, to make the argument more sound, the author needs to provide additional evidences on above three fronts.