Unfortunately, media tries to highlight what is sensational at the moment. Society should be better served if the media reported or focused more fully on events that would ultimately have the most long lasting significance

Media is the main means of mass communication throughout the world and people relies on media for the information of the events taking place all around the world. However, recent trend of media to exaggerate what is sensational at the moment has negative consequences. I therefore personally agree that media should rather focus on the events that would have the most long lasting significance in order to serve the society for the following reasons.

Media people know the fact that people throughout the globe have trusted media for the information of the events taking place throughout the entire world for decades. Media people also know that people are fed up with their humdrum life and they are always seeking for something interesting and exciting to see and hear. Realizing the propensities of the general people, media people often dramatize the events in sensational ways to look real even they are not. Such market driven sensational journalism not only diminishes the trust of people on media, but also leads to some negative consequences. For instance, many models and celebrities have been defamed because of the public disclosure of their private photos and videos in a sensational way. We are well informed of the suicides committed by many celebrities because of the public disclosure of their sex tapes and videos. Similarly, public disclosure and dramatization of the Bill Clinton sex scandal has not only defamed him but also ended up his political career. Furthermore, dramatization and the exaggeration of the events by media has also a great role in fomenting social crisis such as, civil war, racial war, religious war and political conflicts. Thus, media highlights and dramatization of the events has an unfortunate consequences.

I believe that society would be better served if media focuses on those topics which have a lasting significance. Instead of highlighting sensational news, media should focus more on the topics related to different professions such as poultry, farming, culinary, travels and tours, agriculture and so forth. Society would be better served if the media provides sufficient information about the necessary techniques and the skills required to pursue these professions, and the viability of these professions at different places. Society would be better served if media encourage people to adopt these professions. This would help not only to reduce unemployment, but also uplift the economy of the nation.

Similarly, society would be better served if media focuses more on the programs related to environmental pollution, natural disasters, their causes and effects. People would be better served if media provides sufficient information about how environmental pollution leads to the rise of several diseases and several universal problems such as, global warming, ozone layer depletion and climate change. Society would be better served if media provides sufficient information about how to reduce such global effects. Similarly, society would be better served if media focuses more on the topics such as, landslides, flood, earthquake and hurricane like natural calamities. Numbers of life and huge amount of property in the underdeveloped countries would be saved if media provides sufficient information about the ways to mitigate the effects of such disasters.

In conclusion, I agree with the given assertion that society would be better served if media focuses on the events which could have a long lasting significance rather than highlight what is sensational at the moment.