Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Do the college students consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study? Or should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field? The prompt suggest two statements. I do believe that the students should consider their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study for the following reasons.

First of all, the job market is ever shifting, the current job market may or may not remain in the future. For the supporting example, during 1960s, the nuclear Engineers were high in demand since the countries were in competition with each other to establish their nuclear power plants and nuclear weapons. However, the job market for nuclear Engineers is considerable declined in 2000s. Due to this, many Engineers were remained unemployed. So for this reason, considering the availability of jobs, if they base their choice of a field of study, it would be devastating for them.

Second of all, if the students choose the field in which they are interested in, they can establish their own company on their field rather seeking for a job. For example, Elon musk has told in an interview that, once he was seeking for a job in a internet sector, however, the internet based jobs were very few in 90s. Since he couldn't find the jobs in internet sector in which he was very keen at that movement, he established a company. Later, he became successful. One the other hand, it is not rational to say that all the students seek for a job, maybe they want to establish their company. So, students should consider their talents and interests when choosing a field of study.

Third of all, some people may argue that students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field. I strongly disagree with this statement. For example, in recent time, the IT sector has huge amount of jobs available, if everyone base their choice on the presence of jobs, it is no sure that this condition will remain constant after ten years. It is possible that may be after ten years the entire job market shifted towards other field. If so, what all these students will do after that? If they choose the field in which they are interested in, in such case they would even establish a company and diversify that.

In conclusion, I strongly support the first viewpoints for the above reasons. Hence, the college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study, and should not base their base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.