The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the text, the author cites a memorandum from the manager of the WWAC radio station who is highlighting the decline in listener numbers from the WWAC listener area. The manager goes on to say that this is because the people who have recently moved to the mentioned area are not a fan of the rock-music format, or perhaps not a fan of music at all. He further suggests that WWAC should change into a news and talk format which is popular.

This argument rests on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions and needs specific evidence on many aspects to evaluate it.

Firstly, the manager states that even though the population has increased in the area, there has been a decline in the listener numbers. Also, it has been stated that the growth is mainly from people moving here after their retirement. This is an assumption because population growth, in a particular area cannot fluctuate much in a given time. If the population growth in that area has increased less, compared to a decline in listener numbers, this weakens the argument significantly. The time duration in which the decline in listener numbers was observed needs to be stated to match it with the population change that occurred in that time to strengthen the argument. This will denote if the real reason for the decline is population change or not.

Secondly, it has been assumed that changing to a music format tailored to the tastes of the new residents may bring in more listeners. If the WWAC radio station switches the music format according to people's liking, it may lose the listener's interest as it will be in line with the other radio channels which are already in this new format of music. People may listen to the conventional channels rather than WWAC because it is new in the market for that particular music format. This weakens the argument. This can be strengthened by providing evidence of formats used by other radio channels.

Thirdly, it is stated that because there is a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music, it suggests that people have limited interest in music and may like news and talk format which is popular. Music as a domain is technically vast and has many genres. It has not been stated that the recorded music is of which genre and the success statistics of the recorded music-makers whose albums are facing a sales decline in that area. This weakens the argument and is unconvincing. To strengthen the argument, sales statistics of those recorded music albums must be analyzed.

In conclusion, the recommendation is not well supported by the provided facts and is unconvincing in the aspects stated.