The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

The author of this memorandum is concerned with the declining profits and aims to curb these losses by stating some policies. But in my opinion, the author's claims are flawed and based on unsubstantiated assumptions. So, I think the author's argument is unpersuasive due to the following reasons.

Firstly, the author states that in order to terminate the decline in profits, the author suggests reducing operating expenses at Movie Galore's ten movie rental store. But, the author does not mention any details about how to reduce these expenses. Had the author mentioned any unnecessary expenses which had led to increase in the expenses it would be more conclusive. If the author tries to eliminate the fundamental expenses, it would, on the contrary, lead to a further decline in sales. So, the author needs to devise a strategy on which expenses to curb and how to go about it in increasing the profits.

Secondly, the author says that raising rental prices may not be a good idea for improving profits. Yes, I believe that raising prices would hamper their sales, however, in my opinion, the movies to be rented must be divided into different categories namely trending and past. If the author raises the rental price on only the trending movies, it would not have any detrimental effects on his sales rather it will be beneficial for the author as people buy anything that is trending without any hesitation. Also, the author further claims that closing the store at 6:00 pm rather than 9:00 pm and eliminating old stocks would decrease its operating expenses and bring the author profits. But in my view, the author's claims are based on presumptuous. It is possible that the store which closes at 6:00 pm is located at a remote location and people in the area do not come out after 6:00 pm. So, in that case early closure would reduce their expenses, but same cannot be said for the other nine stores. So I feel that a similar policy for the rest of the nine stores does not guarantee any profit for them.

Therefore, in conclusion, collective thinking for all the ten stores does not assure the

stoppage in decline. Every store must strategize a unique plan based on its location, the types of movies people prefer living in that area, and so on. So all in all, I feel that the author's claims are flawed and based on incogent reasons. Had the author kept the above suggestions in mind, it would have bolstered the claims. The author's claims should me well-reasoned to make them more convincing.