The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie rental stores, it was recommended that in order to increase their profits by decreasing the operating expenses by closing the store by 6:00 PM and by reducing the stocks by eliminating movies released more than five years ago. This suggestion is merely based on the experience of one out of the 10 stores that the owner posses. However, before any decision is made, the following questions need to be answered.

First of all, it is stated in the prompt that by decreasing the operating expenses, one of the stores was able to raise profits. But will that be true for all the other stores? In other words, is the store in downtown Marston comparable to the rest of the stores? The different movie rental stores maybe in different parts of the city or the country and hence will attract different kind of people. There may have been a possibility that the region where the Marston store is situated has more customers during the day and hence it was possible for them to keep the store closed in the evening. That does not assure that it will also work in the other rental stores as well. The alternate scenario could be that the town faces problems with electricity and hence the manager chooses to close the store before it gets dark. Since the town is aware of the issue, the store did not have any difficulty or complains from the customers. If either of these scenarios holds merit, the argument is undermined.

Secondly, will the store make profit by not renting movies released more than five years ago? The people who visit these movie rentals can have differed tastes in movies. Some could be inclined to classics that are released more than ten years ago. The newly released movies are available in the theatres and hence people rent movies that are not being shown there. This could result in more decrease in the profits of the store and disrupt the entire business. If the above scenario holds water, then the conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

Ultimately, the argument gives no evidence about the cost of renting movies and maybe that is the issue of the decreasing profits. The stores of Movie Galore must be renting movies at a very high cost and hence attracting only affluent class of the population. The bargains that are stated in the argument are insignificant for the other not-so-rich class. There also may be a possibility that the store has some other sections added to attract customers, for example the music records section, videos games section or even books section that have been increasing the operating costs of the store like electricity, maintenance and cleanliness and thus resulting in the decline of the profits. If the above assumptions are literal, then the argument is purposely weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is greatly inaccurate due to various unjustified postulations. If the owner is able to give justified explanations to all the above scenarios and provide accurate verification (perhaps in the form of a systematic analysis of the argument), then it will be possible to verify whether the recommendation will be beneficial for all the other stores too.