Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

When it comes to education of a student, the two most important elements are the modules that the students study and the teachers who are responsible to teach those modules. A teacher is characterized as an effective one or not by their ability to make the students understand what they’re teaching. But i think more factors should be taken into consideration when judging the effectiveness of a teacher. If contemplated, there could be equal justification to both the qualities mentioned in the given stances but in my opinion, a teacher must be empathetic and understanding in a few circumstances and rigorous and demanding whenever required for the following reasons.

First of all, a school has grades ranging from kindergarten to high school. It is evident that a high school teacher will not teach first grade students the way they teach high school students. The conduct varies with different age groups. A lower grade teacher is expected to be empathetic and understanding so that the students are felt more and ease and communicative. Those are the years when they explore their interests and their ardor towards a knowledge domain they are passionate about. A rigorous and demanding teacher who expects too much from students might be disadvantageous for lower grade students as they will be unable to articulate their feelings as freely as they can with teachers who are rather understanding. Similarly, a Kindergarten teacher cannot behave the same way with high school students. One the other hand, discipline should be taught to students from the early ages which can only be achieve if the teacher is rigorous and demanding. Surveys have shown that the children learn more from the fear of their teachers and this has been successfully practiced in various countries. Therefore, teachers should act depending on the type of students they are taking care of.

Second of all, every student is different. Some students are able to handle the pressure that comes with a rigorous and demanding teacher, but some students find it difficult to cope up which could lead to serious mental illness. In these cases, either of the characteristics fail to depict their effectiveness. The composition of a classroom cannot be changed due to this issue and hence a teacher is expected to act differently with different students. This does not only affects the students but also put a burden on teachers.

That said, i believe either of the characteristics have their own pros and cons and differ depending on the situation. It does not matter how the teacher should be if they are able to convey their knowledge accurately to the students.