Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument stated, it was found that the baskets that were presumed to be made only by Palean people are not uniquely Palean.The archaeologists have come to such a conclusion after they found Palean baskets in Lithos which is an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. However, before this conclusion is properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, was there any evidence regarding the manufacturing of the baskets in Palea ? In other words, it could have been the case that the baskets were manufactured in Lithos and sold in Palean and its neighboring villages due to its significant demand and to increase the economy of Lithos. There may have been a possibility that these baskets were sold predominantly in Palean due to its popularity or findable location and hence were called Palean baskets. Lithos was situated across a deep river from Palean and hence travelling to and fro to buy baskets would have been tedious Furthermore, the people of Lithos may have had a poor standard of living and hence could'nt afford to buy baskets and hence were traded to be sold in the places with a better economy. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the fact that no boats was found in the excavation, proves that boats did not exist for these villages to commute ? There may have been a possibility that the boats were washed away due to the high current of the Brim river during heaving rains or any natural disaster. During the archaeological search, no boats were found but that does not confirm that the people did not commute across the villages.In the ancient years, trading was done at a huge scale and for these villages that have a river between them, a boat is evident. One such trade could have been of the Palean baskets from Palea to Lithos. Some wealthy villagers from Lithos might have traveled to Palea to buy these baskets and hence the discovery of these baskets was found in Lithos. If the above is true, the argument does not hold water

Ultimately, does the argument give any evidence about the existence of the villages simultaneously? There may have been the case that the people living in Lithos started the manufacturing of the baskets and were faced by some disaster and the village was destroyed, making the people to move from Lithos to Palean and start their life there. And hence the baskets were manufactured in Palean by these people and were known to be Palean baskets. Due to the baskets being manufactured there first, traces of such baskets were found. If the above diegesis is literal, then the argument is purposefully weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is greatly inaccurate due to various unjustified postulations. If the writer is able to give justified explanations to all the above scenarios and provide accurateverification (perhaps in the form of a systematic analysis of the argument), then it will be possible to verify thoroughly whether the Palean baskets were uniquely from Palea or Lithos.