The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the memorandum, the bussiness manager belives that the station is facing problems because of the late night news schedule. And suggests that , by restoring the old time given to weather and local news, the news channel will get more viewers and the problem could be resolved. The manager makes these suggestion taking into account ceratin unwarranted assumptions as stated below.

First of all, the manager suspects that the compalaints recieved by the viewers who were concerned about the coverage of weather and local news did so because the national news program has a greater amount of time. There could be a possibility that the viewers who complaint are local and hence they do not want to see any national news at that time. If the station is situated in a small town, the people living there would be more interested in knowing more about the news about their twon rather that about the entire nation. There could also be a possibility, since this is a late night program, the viewers are the ones who come home late from work and do not want to view any tedious news and hence are complaining for a lighter news like the weather report or the local news program. If any of the above hold water, then the managers suggestion becomes enfeeble.

According to the memorandum, the manager speculates that the local business that used to advertise during the late-night news programs have withdrawn their contract due to more coverage given to the national news. This could not be true. The local business could be going into dept due to the advertisement cost and hence might have chosen to cancel the contract. There could also be a probability that the local business could be relocating somewhere and hence do not require their advertisment in this town. Since it was a local business, it shutting down due to losses could also be one of the reasons that the contract would have been scratched. If the manager can verify any of the above assumptions, then the recommendation could be taken into consideration.

Finally, it is a conjecture that if the coverage of weather and local news progam is increased, then the station would reieve more viewers. There could be a likelihood of this not happening. The promt does not mention anything about the station having problems with the reach of the programs. The local news and the weather report being a late-night show does not account to the overall react count of all the stations programs. A late-night show could have less viewers than a morning show or an evening show. Moreover, does the station have enough reports to present in the local and weather news program. By increasing the time, the reports of the progarm will also increase and hence the station will have to present more cases and information for the time duration. But that does not ocnfirm that the program will attract more viewers. If any of the above have merit, the managers submission is weakened

In conclusion, the promt given is made out of unjustified suppositions. If the manager is able to provide justifid evidence regarding the questions above , then the recommendation could be contemplated and studied furthur.