The prompt:

"Sports stars & movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility." -

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing & supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The world that we live in has all kinds of role models; actors, sports players, singer, entrapreneurs, and even scientists. Pertaining to this, their "followers" also known as their fans have various expectations that have no limit whatsoever. Living up to these expectations at the cost of risking someone's health and well-being is not something i advocate to and hence, i disagree to the promt and argue that the stars should'nt be put to such a pressure to potray a certain image just to live up to the expectations of the people who like them and follow them.

First of all, while we talk about movie stars and sport stars, it is usually the young generation who follow them and have developed such a liking towards these stars that they want to know evert little details about them. Call it stalking, but adolescents have gone to great heights to follow these stars everywhere they go and also pay attention to everything they do. This could lead to an inconvenience from the actors side due to the feeling of "always being watched". Some actors love this fame and crave for such attention, eventhough it does not mean that there must be certain rules as to how they behave or live their lives. The fans who watch them tend to do the exact same things and go to the exact same places that these actors have visited.This also penetrates into their personal lifes- like having relationships or who they are related to. Knowing all these information is not somethign for public display but some paparazzi's report them in such a way that it take a tragic turn towards the fans who tend to become agressive to the other person involved with the actor. This risks so many lives and hence, i believe that these stars should be able to live however they want to instead of doing things according to their followers or fan.

Secondly, the world has made it stereotypical for people to not do things out of the box and stick to the " status quo " and so an actor cannot do anything else apart from acting because the "agency" is against it. The actors are not even allowed to go to places that might be of a lower standard than their because then the actor could be potrayed as something else in the press. Every move of a star is monitored and twisted in such a way that could ruin their reputation. For example, agencies in Korea who manage internationally known bands have made their rules so severe for any normal human to follow. Singers are not allowed to go without permision and reason; even to meet their own families, no star should be seen with some other star or even anybody outside the schedule.This could lead to distress in their fans and some even take steps like harming themeselves or the star. This does not only affect a person mentally but emotionally too. It is like a world of captivity for them. This is because the people following them do not want to hear anything bad about their "so perfect star". Hence, actors should be able to live normal lives just like others do.

Finally, the sports and Entertainment industry have seen such a progress in the past two decades that no other industry can be comapred to. And this has lead to so many changes in the overall perspective like management, security and privacy. A star cannot be seen going out for dinner with their friends or even go grocery shopping. Some have broken these taboos' but still they are very less as compared to the others. This is because of the overrated professional label given to these industries. With their every move turning into an unexpected scandal, even they feel the need to be secretive and live just like they are told. These expectations help these stars live up to their reputation and also the "followers" are at ease seeing their role models living their lives just like they hope for. But that does not surpasses the fact that these actors are living with disorders like depression and anxiety that nobody is willing to talk about. And therefore, in my opinion these "stars" should not be imprisioned by the expecatations of this world and should be given time to live their lives as normally as they did before becoming actors.