The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the letter to the editor appeared in a journal on environmental issues, the author asserts that the environmental catastrophe possibly caused by the CCC’s purchase of 10,000 square miles of land can be prevented if the consumers avoid to buy the firm’s products made by copper. However, before this conclusion is evaluated , three questions must be answered.

First of all, the author is assumes that the CCC will use the purchased 10,000 square miles of land to perform mining. Even so, this might not be the case. The company could have purchased the land for conservation projects to set an image to the world. There could be a possibility that the firm will use the land to enhance their past reputation regarding their environmentally destruction operations. It is also possible for the firm to have this asset as an investment and the executives assure that the land will have a significant purpose. In either of the above scenarios have merit, then the argument is enfeebled.

Second of all, the letter to the editor claims that if mining is carried out on the land purchased by CCC, then it will inevitably pollute the environment. Perhaps, this may not be true. The author presumes this because of older mining technologies that might have proven to cause tremendous pollution and harm the environment. There may be a possibility that, due to advancement in technology the new mining techniques have become somewhat more environmental friendly and are significantly less likely to cause pollution. In addition, even if the mining techniques have not advanced to that level, the company might have learnt from past experiences and have found ways to clean and restore the damage caused to the environment by the mining operations. If either case hold water, the author’s contention the mining of copper will result in environmental pollution dramatically weakens.

Finally, if we consider the claim that the land acquired by the CCC will be used to mine copper which will affect the environment severely, the author believes that the consumers will have the resources to identify the products made by the CCC’s copper obtained by mining activity. It is probable, the CCC whole sales their copper to dozens, if not hundreds, of retail corporations and its trademarks do not appear in any of the products. There may a possibility that their logo is indistinguishable or hidden in the detailed information manual and hence many consumers might be unable to ascertain the origins of the components. If it is true that the customers find it arduous to select products without CCCs influence, then the authors submission is not valid and his suggestion will do little to convince the company to forgo its mining plan.

In conclusion, it is possible that consumers refusing the buy products made by CCC will force the firm to abandon its propositions regarding the purchase of land. However, the argument, as it stands now, relies on three unwarranted assumptions that portray its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author needs to provide additional evidence regarding the company’s true intentions to use the land, the prospects of pollution from mining and whether consumers will be able to differentiate CCC’s products from its competitors.