Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The pollution rate of every nation is increasing at such a high rate, giving rise to global warming, acid rains, holes in the ozone layer, and various other complications that have made us count the days we have left. It is no surprise that humans are the reason for such drawbacks. Being a developed country is a dream of every under-developed and developing country and they make use of every possible resource they can to make that happen. But doing so at the cost of the extinction of our life is unfavorable. In my opinion, I am partially in favor of the prompt and I would state my response for the following reasons.

At the moment every nation is in a race to increase their economy and become self-reliant by getting rid of all the debt they own. In doing so they all have gone as far as to utilize every square inch of land they possess and hence have destroyed the natural vegetation to make the residential building or even factories increase their economy. One would find this reasonable keeping in mind their countries current situation. Countries like Uganda, who have been struggling to increase their economy, have taken steps to deforest the wilderness and set up factories and warehouses. The nations have made such decisions for their own selfish needs. Barren lands, being highly unproductive, can be treated and developed into power plants or warehouses that prove to be rather fruitful. Being said that, making use of a lifeless land for the betterment of the nation is not a misjudgment, but preserving the ecosystems that have a variety of animal species living should be reckoned.

However, in the name of development and technology, many nations have vandalized the natural vegetation to make extensive towns and cities and transform it into a concrete jungle. This has not only hindered the natural resources but also snatched away homes of animals that were surviving there. Developing an inhabited region could benefit the nation economically but do so at the cost of jeopardizing the lives of the living organisms that live there is impetuous. A nations’ economy could be increased by sustaining the environment. For example, the government could take steps to encourage buying by increasing the income of the employees. Sometimes the working classes of the society barely make ends meet working for minimum wages and have no money left to have a better standard of living. And increasing the income will persuade them to buy additional supplies that they hesitated to purchase before. The economy can also be boosted by increasing employment and making as many jobs available. Entrepreneurs who need investment could also be granted loans by the government and encourage them to broaden their business locally and globally. Therefore, by not disturbing the natural habitation or wildlife, a nation’s economy can be improved.

Another way to improve the economy, by conserving the untouched lands, is to convert the lands into wildlife sanctuaries. These sanctuaries can help build animal hospitals or research centers to study the animals and the natural habitations existing in that region. This could encourage local as well as international researchers and students to study here and also be used as a tourist location. These sanctuaries can be built to become homes to many rescued animals who are angered or held in captive and that have lived atrociously. Recently, an Asian elephant named “Mara” who is almost fifty years old was rescued from a zoo in Argentina, where she lived for more than 20 years, has been taken to a sanctuary in Brazil. After being trained to work in a circus at a very young age, she was taken by the zoo and lived there ever since. She finally got her freedom and is living an amazing life in the forests of Brazil. This drew the attention of various international reporters and researchers who show interest in such matters. Similarly, a sanctuary can be used to give so many animals the freedom they deserved, and having international exposure could prove beneficial for the nation. The region could also be made into national parks, open for people to visit and explore. These national parks serve and trekking or camping locations. If the animals living in those areas are not very dangerous then these national parks can be used for various other purposes like jogging and walking paths for locals. Doing so will encourage people to visit these parks and have a pleasurable time in the natural and pollution-free atmosphere.

That said, a nation must keep the pollution and natural habitation in mind and make decisions that a beneficial for its growth. Developing plans for the locals helps gain a trust level they have for the government and hence helps in the overall growth of the nation. Hence the nation, prioritizing the protection of the ecosystem, should implement laws and help grow the economy of the nation.