The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore a chain of movie rental stores In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore s ten movie rental stores Since we are famou

As the memorandum provided by the owner of Movies galore, to reverse the recent decline in profit he suggests that certain changes in another store might result in the same output as before. The owner of the store claims the conclusion without exhaustive research on different stores. The owner provides two examples of reversing the profit: raising the rental price, and decreasing operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m rather than 9:00 p.m. In such an instant, the changes should be initiated as per the research on different stores.

The owner might be wrong as he wants to remove certain old movies, there are different people with disparate choices. Simply we cannot remove movies without knowing people's desires. There are different movies with a streak of series. There might be a new viewer of the newly released last part of the series; however, he wishes to watch previous parts of the movie. Thus, removing the old movies from the sack might not be a better option to reverse the profit. As stated by the owner “it is one of the reputed shops in the area” thus, removing old movies might degrade the name of the shop. The owner should research removing certain categories of movies that are less demanded in the market.

There is no proper research for the different shops as there might be different peak times in different stores. The previous change of time for one store might not be a good idea for another. The exhaustive and lucid research should be done based on the peak hour and movies to add. What if the peak hour of the store is about 6:00 p.m to 9:00 p.m? This might result in declining the profit more harshly. Thus, one can’t claim the conclusion without incomplete research. There might be other choices to reverse the profit such as finding out the peak hour and least sell hours. The store can be closed except peak hours for a certain time. Considering the reputation, the store can be close for few hours.

As the analysis might be true in some way. There is no proper exhaustive research, thus, it might be more applicable if the research holds some facts. Thus, without a proper premise, the conclusion can’t be claimed. This might degrade the reputation of the company.