The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores. "In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

In citing that their store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses last month, by closing earlier than normal as well as, by also reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago, the owner of Movies Galore in a memorandum concludes that in order to increase profits in their other nine stores, without jeopardizing their reputation for offering great movies at low prices, the same changes that were implemented in Marston store should be implemented in all stores as well. However, the author's assertion as it currently stands is considerably flawed and can be evaluated by answering three questions.

First of all, are Marson and all other nine Movies Galore stores roughly comparable? In other words, can circumstances faced by Marson be used to make a generalization and prediction of all other Movies Galore stores? It is possible that the stores are not similar at all. Perhaps, the store in Marston is situated in a bucolic area and the reduction of its operating expense would not significantly affect the effective running of the store. It may be that the store in Marston has a devoted customer base that do not even care how the store is run and are only interested in the movies they want to rent. If any of the above scenarios has merit, then the author's argument is significantly weakened.

Is the decline in the store profits caused by the operating expenses? Is it possible that no other factor is involed in this decline? However, this may not be the case. The author presumes, with no justification, that the decline in profits is caused by nothing other than the expenses for the stores operation. Maybe the decline is caused by the opening of another store by a different movie-rental company close to all other nine Movies Galore stores. Moreover, the new stores may have lured in most customers that have been patronizing Movies Galore stores in the past. It could be that a new technology has sufficed that demands movie enthusiasts to stream movies online rather than renting the movies in a store. Without convincing answers to these questions, the author's argument is not viable.

Finally, are the changes implemented by Marston store last month and five years ago, still bringing in increased return? It is possible, that the changes implemented by Marston store are no longer viable. It could be that the changes worked when they were first implemented but are now causing disasters rather than increase. Perhaps, the returns are even now worse than when the changes were first implemented. Even if these changes are implemented by the other stores, it may follow the pathway of Marston store by bringing in increased returns and then reducing drastically. Therefore, if evidence about the returns of Marston stores are not provided, then the argument is more wishful than substantive.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumption. If the author had provided evidence, then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the author's recommendation to increase the profit of Movie Galore's stores by reducing operating expenses.