In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

In the author's argument, it is stated that to increase the use of the Mason river for riverside recreational activities, the city government should devote more money in this year's budget. The author draws this conclusion by citing the surveys where Mason city residents rank water sports among their favorite recreational activities and also the complaints from residents about the quality and smell of the river's water. However, the author's assertion as it currently stands, rests on three unwarranted assumptions.

First of all, the argument presumes, with no justification that the residents of mason city who rank water sport among their favorite recreational activities, would also participate in them. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps, they only prefer being speculators of the sports and not participants. These water sports may require experts to participate in them, and these residents may just prefer cheering others up during their leisure time. Maybe the residents only prefer to watch these sports on televisions and not actually be present where the sport is happpening. Even if these residents want to participate in these sports, they might be unable to because the size of the mason river may be too small for these recreational activities and not even because of the smell and quality of the river's water. Hence, if any of the above scenerios is true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author readily assumes that the complaints received about the quality and smell of the water is a representative of all the city's residents. It is possible that only 2 out of 200 residents in Mason city gave complaints about the river's quality. Hence, the author makes a generalization from limited survey. Maybe the river's quality is not as bad as they make it look. Even if the complaints are true and without bias, the residents may have complained just because the smell makes them uncomfortable and not because they would want the river to be used for water sports. Therefore, if any of the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, it is stated that cleaning up Mason river, would increase its use for water sports. It could be that the smell of the water is being caused by the wastes from a nearby factory that isn't even aware of the damage it has been causing. So cleaning up the river does not mean that the source of the smell and quality deterioration is stopped. Increasing the budget for riverside recreational facilities, would be like pouring water on stone, that is, it would be a waste of effort. Perhaps the smell is even caused by a natural effect which may not have a solution and would just be better as being abandoned. So, until there is evidence about the source of the river's smell and pollution, the argument is flawed.

In conclusion, the author's argument as it stands, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. For the argument to be viable, it is required that additional evidence, perhaps in form of a more systematic research study be provided to fully evaluate the argument to increase the use of mason river for water sports.