The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company. "Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee - a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

In citing that the employees productivity of a lot of companies has greatly improved due to their participation in the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course, as well as the fact that one graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours and also about how another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year, the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company has concluded Acme Publishing Company would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course. However, the author's assertion as it currently stands, rests on three unwarranted assumptions.

First of all, the the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company, presumes with no justification that the siurvey carried out on the companies that have participated in the course is without bias. In taking the data at face value, the personnel director further assumes that, many companies that stated the improval of its staff productivity as a result of the course, is a representative of all companies that have witnessed its employees overall improval. The most important part of a survey is its methodology- in that case, if only 3 out of 30 companiesthat have participated in the course were interviewed, it would be discovered that many companies may wish that the didn't allow their staff to participate the the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course. Therefore, without convincing evidence to counter the scenerios above, the author's argument is not viable.

It may be true that $500 per employee is a small price to pay by a company that has a smaller employee size, but the author's argument that it would be a negligible price for Acme, is rife with holes. Perhaps Acme has an employee size of over a thousand and its profit is far less than the amount required for all its employee to participate in the course. Perhaps if the had an employee range of 4-5, then the argument would have been significantly strenghtened. Even if the Acme has a small employee size, it could be that the company faced a great loss that year and can not be able to afford to pay for the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course for its staff.Therefore, if any of the above is true, then the argument is significatly weakened.

Finally, even if Acme is able to afford the cost of all employee participating in the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course, are the employees willing to participate in the course? It could be that the employees have a different catalyst that improves that productivity rather than a mere Speed-Reading Course. Perhaps all the employees in Acme are already fast readers and still their productivity has not improved. Morever, the author claims that reading a long report very fast, would move an employee up the organogram of a company. Maybe implementing the participation in a totally different course, like a team- player course would improve the productivity of the company. So, if the author had provided evidence on the willingness of Acme employees to participate in the speed reading course, then the argument would be more substantive than wishful.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands, is considerably flawed due toits reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author had provided evidence , perhaps, in form of a well systematic research study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the author's argument for Acme to increase the productivity of its staff by participating in the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course.