It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

This topic raises the issue of whether defining ourselves would be the solely done through our identification with social groups. Indisputably, no man is an island. Interactions with others helps in various ways, be it morally, emotionally or even intellectually. Nevertheless, various people have their various unique characteristics that may not gel with others. Thus, i would generally disagree with that our identification with social group is the primary key to define ourselves and instead, support that we do not need to identify with social groups for us to define ourselves.

First of all, man is a unique creature. There are no two people with exactly the same fondness. To illustrate, let's look at an example of identical twins. Even with the striking resemblance, they aren't hundred percent the same. One may be extroverted, while the other is an introvert and they can't pretty much like the same things. In this circumstance, one may do well with identifying himself in a social group while the other needs to be alone for him to identify himself. Consequently, it is pretty much obvious that being with social groups is not a primary key for finding oneself.

Furthermore, if we subject everyone to the same treatment, it would end up being a disaster. Not everyone knows how to open up in the midst of others. Social groups might end up being a bane rather than a boon. Imagine a 5 year old with so much potential, that loves inventing things but loves doing it alone, being asked to recite a poem in front of his classmates who bully him a lot, they would end up laughing at him which may have a long term effect on his self esteem. Being alone does not mean you are lonely, it only means you love your own company and that is fine. You might end up defining ourselves in your comfort zone. Both common sense and personal experience has made us understand that equality is not equity, that is, subjecting everyone to the same treatment does not mean we would end up alike. Hence, all the evidence above, demonstrates that social groups is not the primary factor for defining ourselves.

Admittedly, social groups are excellent to imbibe people with team spirit, willingness to work and relate with others and even share our problems thereby relieving ourselves of our burdens. In addition, like i said before, no man is an island, we all need somebody to lean on. However, the argument above, does not constitute sufficient support to to claim that social groups is the primary factor of ones identity. Does it have to be through a social group? You could have just two friends who you interact with that brings out the best in you and also helping you to identify yourself. Everyone has their various ways of defining themselves.

In conclusion, although social groups helps us in improving our interaction, it is a peripheral factor and not the primary factor in identifying ourselves. As long as some measurements are performed or some areas are involved, we can define ourselves through means other than our identification with social groups.