Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today. Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

This topic raises a controversial issue of whether knowing about the past would have a significant effect on the decisions people make today since the world is more complex that it was in the relatively recent past. Indisputably, change they say, is a constant process. We undergo changes at every point in our lives. Nevertheless, these changes can be occurrent, multiple times, at different stages of life. Thus, i generally disagree with the opinion that knowing about the past cannot help make important decisions today because of the complexity of the present and would argue that the past is more involved in making present day decisions even with its complexity.

First of all, experience they say, is the best teacher. I would like to point out that going through an obstacle once, would help you understand that situation better than you did at first. To illustrate, let's look at scientists. If scientists do not go through works done by experts in the past, science would be less viable than it is now. Scientist of the present, have modified and verified most of their researches by looking through past scientists works, thereby finding loopholes in theirs and correcting them to give us the science we all know now. Imagine if Graham bell had not invented the first telephone, we would not have the smartphones we have today because a prototype wouldn't have existed which would have affected us today. In this circumstance, obviously, without previous works to fall back on, we would have more problems than we had in the past. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that knowledge of the past, greatly influence important decisions of the present.

Furthermore, If the knowledge of the past cannot help with decision making today,then we would be like sheep without a shephard leading us because we would be elusive about how those before us faced circumastances that arose during their time. For example, Paleoecology which is the study of vegetation and biodiversity of the past, helps us understand how the vegetation of the past was, the changes they went through, how they reacted to these changes, how these changes are affecting the vegetation of the present and even how the vegetation of the future would be. So understanding the past, gives us an insight on the present and even how the future would be. Both common sense and personal experiences have told us that the decisions today, we make affects our future, what if the future they talked about is now? Hence, all the evidences above demonstrates that, the past affects our decisions even more than we know.

Admittedly, the present is a standard on its own and shorld not be dependent on any factor. This is true especially when it comes to the bible where it says,"Old things are past away, Behold all things have become new".In addition, there are some experience in life that occur only once and after that it doesn't happen again, that is, these decisions are once in a lifetime. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that the present is independent on knowledge of the past.

In conclusion, although, the topic claims that the past cannot affect decision making in present time due to its complexity, this is flawed and does not hold water. As long as some measurements are performed, or some areas are involved, knowledge of the past can help people to make important decisions today even with the complexity of the present.