Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

In the author's argument, it is concluded that in order to derive accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method instead of using an observation-centered approach. The author draws this conclusion by citing the dispararity between the results of two different studies carried out by two anthropologists at different times and assumes that the second study is more accurate because it used a different approach from the first. However,before this recommendation can be fully evaluated, three questions need to be answered.

First of all, were the questions asked by Dr Karp during his interview in line with the study of Dr Field? Do the two studies have the same statement of purpose? Are the questions asked during he interview without bias? It is possible that the interview conducted by Dr Karp with the children raised an entirely different subject matter. Perhaps, he asked them to talk about their biological parents and they only did this by reiterating the stories the always heard from other villagers about their parents. It could be that the children did not even know their parents and only talked about the imaginations they had of them. Maybe the children did not even understand the questions asked by Dr. Karp and went on talking about a totally different thing. Moreover, it could be that the language spoken by the people of Tertia was not understood by Dr. Karp and then he interpreted a different thing. Hence, if any of the above scenerios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the author's argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, is the Tertian culture un-changable? Change they say, is the only constant thing. The author's assumes that because Dr. Field study happened 20 years ago, the culture then is still the same now. This may not be the case. It could be that when Dr. Field visited the island of Tertia, they were uncivilizied, but now, civilization may have gotten the best of them and they now see thing differently. Maybe they now had television where they could see how other islands and villages raised their children which made the whole villagers of Tertian come together to revise their culture. Perhaps,the study carried out by Dr. Field changed their approach to how they raised their children and that study may have been the catalyst that brought about a revision of the Tertian culture. Therefore, if the above is true, then the author's argument does not hold water.

Finally, if Dr. Karp's study had come first before Dr. Field's would it still be considered valid? Because Dr. Field study happened 20 years does not mean it is invalid, it could even be that Dr. Karp's interview was not systematically done. What if there were other studies that used the interview-centered method before Dr. Karp, involving errors and bias, would it still be considered accurate? Even if Dr. Field's study was invalid, that does not been the approach is wrong. It could be that Dr. Field didn't know how to use the approach or was still a new at using the approach.There could have been alot of other studies after Dr. Karp's that used Dr. Field's approach that includes more evidence and accurate measures better than Dr. Karp's. Without convincing answers to these questions, the author's argument is considered as flawed.

In conclusion, the author's argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author had provided more evidence, perhaps in form of a systematic research study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the author's recommendation to conduct future research on Tertian child-rearing practices via the interview-centered method rather than the observation-centered approach to obtain accurate information.