Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

In citing radio station WCQP's increased number of call-in advice programs, as the catalyst to a larger audience base and also a nationwide survey about many radio listeners being interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway has come to the conclusion that for KICK to gain a larger audience share in its listening area, it should include more call-in advice programs just as WCQP in Rockville. However, before the station manager recommendation can be fully evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, are Rockville and Medway roughly comparable? In other words, can the circumstances faced by Rockville be used to make generalization and predictions about Medway? It is possible that Rockville and Medway are not similar at all. Perhaps the residents of Rockville are totally different from Medway. It could be that Rockville is a cosmopolitan area while Medway may be a bucolic area. Rockville couldbe made up of mostly working class residents who would gregarious and would want to talk about how their day went after work and Medway may include mostly farmers that may not like the call-in programs because they are introverted and do not know how to interact with people outside their circle. Therefore, if any of the above scenerios is true, then the author's argument is not viable.

The station manager presumes, with no justification, that the nationalwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, is without bias. . In taking this data at face value, the author further assumes that the survey demographics are representative of the entirety of all radio listeners. The most essential part of any research is the methodology- in this case, if the survey only interviewed 3 out of 30 radio listeners, it could be discovered that most radio listeners, would detest the call-in advice program which might end up reducing the number of audience. If the station manger had provided sufficient evidence regarding the above, then the argument would have been significantly strenghtened.

Finally, does the inclusion of the call-in program by WCQP radio station in Rockville, still produce an increase in its listening area? Has the value changed or is its return decreasing? It could be that the addition of these programs by WCQP 2 years ago isn't bringing in the same effect now compared to when it was first included. Perhaps, WCQP audience is much more reduced, even compared to before the programs were added. Moreover, adding these call-in programs to KICK might increase at first and then reduce drastically, which would bring a bad account for KICK radio station. Without convincing evidence to this questions, the argument is more wishful than substantiative.

In conclusion, the station manager argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed, due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide more evidence, perhaps, in form of a more systematic research study, then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the station manager recommendation to gain a larger audience by including more call-in advice programs.