Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive. Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The strength and future of a nation, rest on the shoulders of the younger generations; in this case-the students. Indisputably, all students of a nation would represent the nation wherever they find themselves, be it in Africa, Europe and anywhere else, and these students should be taught the same thing in other to have a uniformity in their knowledge skill. However, there are exemptions where this does not apply.

The standard of a school, depends on the ability for each student

The cultural traditions of a nation serves as a footprint for the upcoming generation. It leaves behind, an indelible mark and serves as an exemplar for the generations to come. Indisputably, the preservation of these cultural traditions need a financial stability for them to thrive and still continue to stand as models to follow. However, major cities alone do not serve as the primary hosts of these traditions. Thus, I strongly disagree that major cities should receive financial support from the government because they serve as an embodiment of these cultural traditions.

First of all, a nation's cultural traditions can be preserved and generated in locations of a nation that are bucolic and insular. These traditions do not necessarily have to be in major cities. To illustrate this, let's look at an example of the Nigerian cultural traditions. Most of these traditions are found and thrive better in villages that are close to being uncivilized. Their cultural traditions thrive mainly because of the commitment these people have for their traditions and not even because of the presence of any financial support.

Most cities even get rid of the nations cultural traditions because they want to accommodate 'outsiders' who would see their traditions as ancient and not suitable for a city. Besides, these cities are cosmopolitan and they thrive mainly because of the diversity present. Imagine a city where you can find various tribes and people of different countries. It would be unsurprising for the culture of another country to thrive better than the culture of the nation where they inhabit. In this circumstance, the culture of another nation becomes more popular than the culture of the nation in which these people live. If this happens, the government would instead be promoting another culture rather than theirs with the financial support they provide.

Admittedly, the provision of financial support by the government to its nation would help preserve and generate the nation's cultural traditions. However, this does not stand true for all cases. This would only be true, if it has been established that the cultural traditions of a nation is undoubtedly present in its major cities. Therefore, as there is no support to substantiate the above, then it is pretty much obvious that major cities do not serve as the backbone to a nation's tradition.

In conclusion, although it may be true that ensuring that major cities receive financial support from the government because they help preserve the cultural traditions of a nation, it does not stand true for all instances. As long as some measurements are performed, or some areas are involved, a nations cultural traditions can be preserved in a rustic locality rather than a major city which may not even need financial support from the government.