Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear. Write a response

There are differing schools of thoughts on the benefits scientific researches would have on the overall betterment of a nation. Indisputably, the consequences a research would have on a nation might be totally different from the government's expectations due to their unclear outcomes. However, precluding a scientific research even before it is executed would be a bad step for the government to take. The prompt recommends that governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear. In my opinion, i would strongly disagree with this and would rather support that the government fund scientific researches even without knowing the output.

Science is a very broad field of study. It encompasses different aspects of life. Science has been known to be a boon and bane to life. However, the predictability of science brings about complacency. When the outcome of a study is predictable, there is no enthusiasm in knowing what the results of that study would be. Recommending that the government turn away from funding these researches because of this reason is too facile. Most scientific researches that have brought about process in our day to day life did not include the end result of the research before it was carried out. For example, a group of scientists may embark on a research experiment to find a cure a disease whose symptoms are known but the disease itself is unknown. The end result of this study might even be a cure for a totally different disease which cure wasn't know. Due to this unclear outcome, a cure of a different disease has been found.

Most scientific researches known by the public to be funded by private companies may actually be funded by the government in closet. The government itself maybe scared of the outcome of a research due to how the masses may react to it and not because the outcome is unclear. A private company working on a nuclear experiment might be funded by the government without the knowledge of the masses. It could be hat this project would not be accepted by the masses because of how they would see the outcome.

In conclusion, I would expect that, if you have read up till this point, you would certainly agree with me that the government should fund scientific research even with no pre-knowledge of its outcome.