The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

Argument Topic :“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

it might seem axiomatic that the owner of movies galore should expend less in order to increase profits of movies galore (mg) without jeopardizing their reputation. To justify this, the owner makes several assumptions that cannot be taken for granted.

As a threshold matter, the owner of mg hastily assumes that every chain of movie-rental stores will have the same consequences after the reduction of the operating expenses. Although this might be the case, it is possible that only relatively young people are willing to borrow movies from mg. it is such a plausible case since mg is famous for their special bargains. When the young people in marston is just willing to watch certain movies which have released within five years, the case is getting more plausible. however, the case cannot be applied to all the chain stores. since people in every regions are differ from each other, one cannot regard the people in the region as the same as that in marston. it might be problematic if some chain stores are closing by 6:00 P.M., or reducing its stock. thus, one cannot just think that reducing the available time and movies increases the total profits.

Even conceding that every environmental situations surrounding chain of movie-rental stores are indifferent with marston, the argument is still vulnerable in that it relies on unfair assumption: reducing its stock help the total profits of the store. since every stores are charged to rent certain movies, reducing its stock cannot help to cut down their expenses. Eventually rented goods would returned most of the time, it does not affect any running expense of stores. therefore, reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago is totally unnecessary. Moreover, it can also harm the reputation of the mg. thus, it is not appropriate to contract the movie stock.

Finally, the argument is still dubious in that it unfairly assumes that the leaning is uniform through all the seasons. however, one can fairly think that movie rental business is somewhat seasonal issue. since it is related to the free time activity, majority of movie rental businesses are more prospective in vacational season than that of non-vacational season. But the reduction of prospects of movie rental businesses are related to only workers. if marston in last month is the case in which is the vacational season so that workers can borrow their movies before 6 P.M., the case cannot be regarded as the general case that can be adapted elsewhere. if this circumstances occur, the mg cannot make more profit by cutting expenses of running stores, since many workers might regress their way back to home with no movies rented. thus, the conclusion mentioned in the statement cannot be regarded as true.

In sum, since numerous assumptions that are unwarranted are applied to this argument, it remains fragile in its form. therefore, assumptions discussed in the essay should be accounted in order to make a proper choice.