The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores. “In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

First of all, are all 10 video rental stores of movies galore comparable? In other words can circumstances of one video store in downtown marston could be used for generalization and prediction for other video stores? It is possible that other video store could be located in suburbs or in downtown of other cities or could even be in rural areas. There are chances of different response at each and every store according to the locality so if any of the scenarios has any merit than the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, would reducing operating hours and stock assure the operating cost and increase the profit of all ten stores, as mentioned above are the characteristics of all ten stores similar? No! we don’t know that! There are chances that in downtown marston there is some what demand of movie galore store and people are ready to accommodate there visit to the store before or up-to 6 pm rather than 9 pm, because of there competitive price range. The reduction in stock by eliminating stocks older than 5 years could also effect in sales as I would not assure increase in output, what it would insure would be less inventory nothing else. Which could not be generalized for each and every store which makes the argument tenuously weak.

Finally there are chances that it could jeopardize the reputation of movie galore as they are known for there low cost movie rental and special bargain, there are chances that due to very steep decline in sales irrespective of operating hours or operating cost they are not able to give discount or availability of same/inferior product at cheaper price at other store in the vicinity could harm there reputation, which would make the argument weak.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above mentioned questions or provide more evidence then only it is possible to evaluate the viability of reducing operating hours and limiting the stock to meet the requirements to make profit at movie galore.