SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT CORPORATIONS HAVE A RESPONSIBILITY TO PROMOTE THE WELL-BEING OF THE SOCIETIES AND ENVIRONMENTS IN WHICH THEY OPERATE. OTHERS BELIEVE THAT THE ONLY RESPONSIBILITY OF CORPORATIONS, PROVIDED THEY OPERATE WITHIN THE LAW, IS TO MAKE AS MUCH MONEY AS POSSIBLE.

A corporation is a body which is in a way directly responsible for the development of the society and could be resembled as the reinforcement of the society. Corporation operates under a environment which is closely monitored by the civilians and if there are any deviations in the work ethics of the corporation, then there are chances that it could ruin the environment of the society. I partially agree with the prompt as per my perspective due to following reasons.

First and the foremost, I partially agree with the prompt that the corporations plays a major role in shaping the environment and aiming for the well being of the society. For instance, municipal corporation of Ahmedabad city is very active and prompt in taking actions for the society, to delineate that with an example, metro work is currently going on in the city of Ahmedabad and there are road closures in many areas, to counter the traffic the corporation has restricted the roads and the two way roads are temporarily declared as one way. So the action taken on time in fact works as a catalyst and minimizes the inconveniences.

Further, I partially disagree with the prompt that corporation should operate within law to make as much amount of money as possible, as the corporation is for the people and by the people so the main aim of the corporation should be to deliver the society the best service as possible irrespective to the amount of money it makes, though money is an majorly important factor but it should not be the driving factor. For instance if the city has an very good infrastructure but is very conjusted in terms of traffic then alternate means of transportation's are must and for which adequate steps should taken, here money should be the second priority as this is the fundamental requirement for the city.